Dunham, other D.C. high school coaches honored

Former Wilson track coach Desmond Dunham was awarded the Girls' Outdoor Track and Field Section 2 Coach of the Year by the National Federation of State High School Association's Coaches Association. (Current file photo)

The National Federation of State High School Association’s Coaches Association selected 13 Washington, D.C. high school coaches as 2017 State Coaches of the Year.

Woodrow Wilson’s Desmond Dunham was selected as the Girls’ Outdoor Track and Field Section 2 Coach of the Year for Delaware, D.C., Kentucky, Maryland, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Virginia and West Virginia. Dunham also was the Boys’ Track and Field D.C. State Coach of the Year.

“Congratulations to Coach Dunham and all of the other D.C. State Coaches of the Year,” District of Columbia State Athletic Association Executive Director Clark Ray said. “We know the value of coaches who are committed to their schools, teams and student-athletes and the difference they make. We appreciate not only the coaches of the year, but all of the coaches across the District who give their best each and every day to help our student-athletes maximize their potential.”

Other D.C. coaches honored by the federation were: John Ausema, Gonzaga, boys cross-country, Andy Bradley, Gonzaga, baseball; Heather Dent, National Cathedral, softball; Kevin Hughes, Georgetown Visitation, girls cross-country; Micheal Hunter, Friendship Collegiate, football; Zaw Lyn, Maret, boys tennis; James Martin, Washington International, boys soccer; Nia Nicholas, Anacostia, spirit; Bill Pribac, St. John’s, volleyball; Jonathan Scribner, St. John’s, girls basketball; Steve Turner, Gonzaga, boys basketball; and Kendall White, National Cathedral, girls tennis.