DCSAA announces all-state basketball teams


The D.C. State Athletic Association announced its all-state basketball teams in a news release on Monday. The honors were determined by a vote by area coaches according to the release.

Boys basketball

Player of the year

Chris Lykes, Gonzaga

First team

Luka Garza, Maret

Ayinde Hikim, Wilson

Kenneth Tyre, Friendship Tech Prep

Tre Wood, St. John’s

Second team

Elijah Bowens, Maret

Derrick Brown, Theodore Roosevelt

Prentiss Hubb, Gonzaga

Karl Robinson, Thurgood Marshall

Keleaf Tate, Cesar Chavez

Girls basketball

Player of the year

Aisha Sheppard, St. John’s

First team

Niya Beverley, St. John’s

Annie Boasberg, Sidwell

Maeve Carroll, Visitation

Mya Moye, Anacostia

Second team

Asia Coates, Wilson

Nalani Lyde, Sidwell

Miamour Mesa, Bell

Ellie Mitchell, Visitation

Henaiyah Moton, Friendship Collegiate