Citizens Association of Georgetown: May 10, 2017


The Dumbarton House, constructed in 1799, has been open to the public since 1932. (photo by Love Life Images)

Citizens Association of Georgetown’s annual meeting will be held at Dumbarton House at 2715 Q St. NW on Tuesday, May 23. We will be presenting awards to community leaders for 2017. The Belin Award will be presented to Jennifer Romm for her dedicated work as co-chair of the Georgetown Gala Committee and the Alcohol Beverage Control Committee. She is also the association’s lead representative for the Georgetown University Campus Plan, and is part of the Steering Committee of the Georgetown Community Partnership. The William A. Cochran Award for exceptional efforts to protect and enhance the community’s parkland and architectural resources will go to June Libin, Edith Schafer and Lee Child of the Georgetown Garden Club. The Martin-Davidson Award to businesses that have contributed significantly to the community will be presented to Michael Rankin of TTR/Sotheby’s. The Charles Atherton Award for exceptional service by a dedicated public-sector professional for outstanding work preserving and protecting historic Georgetown will go to Kevin Brandt of the National Park Service. There will be a special award to Appalachian Spring for 25 years of service to the retail community and its customers. The association’s block captains will also be given special recognition.

The nominating committee has proposed a slate of officers and four directors. Please come to the meeting to cast your vote. If elected, I have agreed to serve as president for the 2017-18 term. Jennifer Romm has agreed to serve as vice president and Hazel Denton, who teaches courses at Georgetown University, has agreed to serve as secretary. John Richardson, who has a distinguished background in historic restoration, has agreed to serve as treasurer. The four candidates for directors are: Karen “Cookie” Cruse, who serves as co-chair of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Committee, and works diligently to balance between the residential and commercial sectors; Barbara Downs, who has served as president in the past and worked on various projects, including the cobblestone renovation of O and P streets; Hannah Isles, who has served for eight years on the association’s Concerts in the Parks program; and John Rentzepis, who is co-chair of the Public Safety Committee and oversees the association’s block captains. These nominees have sound credentials, and they deserve your support.

— Bob vom Eigen